Skype as a Reference Tool

23 02 2010

Project of the day is to install and test Skype. My Library is looking to use Skype to facilitate 2 long distance interviews and wanted something more intimate than a conference call. Having some familiarity with the software/service I have been tasked to help lead the project. This is great because I have had an interest in using Skype as a reference tool for our special collections. I’ll post about implementing Skype in general and in particular how we attempt to implement it as a reference tool.

On that note, it would be worth while to check out So Maybe This is Why no one uses Skype Reference Service from the Library Voice.  Chad Boeninger provides an excellent overview of his experience with Skype. I envision using the service a lot like Ohio University used it. Don’t call me crazy. Although we are doing the same thing , I DO expect different outcomes. I think that the outcomes will be different because our target users are different. Ohio U. naturally targeted its students. However, my target users are long distance baby boomers, with primarily genealogy reference questions. I believe that they want and are accustomed to the  face 2 face experience that Skype can give. I could be wrong but we’ll find out…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

